The Vice President of India is the second highest constitutional post in India after the President. The Vice President is elected by an Electoral College consisting of members of both houses of Parliament – the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha. The Vice President’s term of office is five years and he/she can be re-elected for any number of terms.

The Vice President performs the role of the Chairman of the Rajya Sabha, which is the upper house of the Indian Parliament. As the Chairman of the Rajya Sabha, the Vice President presides over the proceedings of the House, maintains order in the House, interprets the rules of the House, decides on points of order and has the power to summon and adjourn the House.

In the absence of the President, the Vice President can perform the functions of the President. In case of a vacancy in the office of the President due to resignation, death or removal, the Vice President serves as the Acting President until a new President is elected.

The Vice President is not a member of either house of Parliament, but is entitled to participate in the proceedings of the Rajya Sabha. The Vice President receives a salary, allowances and privileges that are determined by the Parliament.

Scroll to Top